Explore Airtel Thanks App    X
  1. Home
  2. »
  3. Airtel Thanks App
  4. »
  5. Which Vehicles Are Exempted from FASTag?
Which Vehicles Are Exempted from FASTag

Which Vehicles Are Exempted from FASTag?

There are few rules and regulations we are bound to obey in every sector of the world. One such rule includes the Electronic Toll Collection (ETC). According to Rule 11 of the National Highways Fees Rules, 2008, some vehicle classifications are exempt from paying any user charges or fees at toll plazas. These cars are normally exempt from FASTag or toll taxes. Despite being exempt, all these cars must have a FASTag sticker. Let’s read more to know about exempted FASTag and FASTag recharge.

Also read: Why use FASTag on Highways

Which Vehicles are Exempted from FASTag?

According to NHAI regulations, emergency vehicles such as ambulances, fire trucks, and police cars are exempt from paying tolls. Vehicles exempted from FASTag must use FASTag stickers despite being exempt from paying user fees at NH-operated toll plazas. This is to guarantee that all cars passing through ETC-operated toll plazas employ FASTag for smooth operation. In addition, new ambulances and funeral vehicles may request for FASTag exemption under this category.

According to the NH Fee Rule 2008 and future changes, exempted FASTags shall be given free of charge to all vehicles in this category.

Also read: How to recharge FASTag Online and Offline

What is Exempted FASTag?

The Ministry of Road Transport & Highways (MoRTH) has directed that exempted FASTags be issued to all vehicle categories designated as exempt from paying user charges under Rule 11 of the National Highways Fees Rules, 2008. According to the legislation, the Ministry has released a list of exempted FASTag cars that still need the sticker while being exempt from paying the fee at NH plazas across India.

List of Exempted Vehicles

Below is the list of vehicles that have FASTag exemption

Exempted FASTag Vehicle


President of India 1
Vice-President of India 2
Prime Minister (PM) of India 3
State Governor 4
Chief Justice of India 5
Speaker of the House of People 6
Union Cabinet Minister 7
State’s Chief Minister (CM) 8
Supreme Court Judge 9
State Minister 10
Lieutenant Governor of UT (Union Territory) 11
Chief of Staff 12
Chairman of Legislative Council of a State 13
Speaker of the Legislative Council of a State 14
Chief Justice of a High Court 15
High Court Judge 16
MP (Member of Parliament) 17
Army Commander of Army Staff  18
State Government Chief Secretary 19
Government of India Secretary 20
Council of States, Secretary 21
House of People, Secretary 22
Foreign Dignitary on State Visit 23
MLA and MLC 24
Awardee of Ashik Chakra, Param Vir Chakra, Sharya Chakra, Kirti Chakra, and Maha VIR Chakra 25
Ministry of Defence Eligible Under Indian Toll Act, 1901 27
State and Central Armed Forces in Uniform, Police and Parliamentary Force 28
Executive Magistrate 29
Fire-Fighting Department 30
Government or NHAI utilising vehicles for inspection purposes, operational, construction and maintenance of national highways 31
Ambulance 32
Funeral Van 33
Mechanical Vehicle for Disabled Person 34

Which Vehicles Are Exempted from FASTag 1

Documents Required for Exempted FASTag Application

To get your vehicle classified under the NHAI-exempt FASTag, you need the following documents:

  • Completed and signed application form.
  • Registration Certificate for the Vehicle.
  • Identity documents include PAN cards, Aadhar cards, and others.
  • Proof of exemption designation.

Also read: How to recharge FASTag with vehicle number?

Online Registration Process for Exempted FASTag

Here is the process for exempted FASTag apply online on the IHMCL portal-

Step 1: To start the toll tax exemption process, go to the IHMCL portal.

Step 2: Once the webpage is accessible, select the “Exempted FASTag Portal” option.

Step 3: To register yourself, pick the “Applicant Login” option and then “New Registration” on this new page.

Step 4: Enter your information, including your name, address, phone number, and city, and then click the “Submit” button.

Step 5: Once you have the login and password, enter the site and download the exemption form.

Step 6: Select the “Upload Form” option. Next, choose the exemption category code. After that, choose the NHAI regional office.

Step 7: Fill out all of the portal’s required information and submit all papers.

Step 8: After submitting your document, click the “Submit” button.

Step 9: After document verification, the user will receive a confirmation notice via email for the exempted FASTag.

How to check exempted FASTag application status online?

If you’ve already applied for the FASTag exemption, you may check its status by completing these steps:

Step 1: To begin, go to the IHMCL website.

Step 2: Next, click on the “Exempted FASTag Portal”.

Step 3: Next, click “Applicant Login” and input your username and password, followed by the verification code, and then click the “Login” button.

Step 4: Your exemption FASTag account is now open; navigate to the “Status” area.

Step 5: Finally, input your application number and click the “Submit” button.

Step 6: The exemption FASTag status will appear on the screen.

Airtel Thanks app

Another simple option to recharge FASTag is to use the Airtel Thanks App to deposit funds into your associated Airtel Payments Bank account or wallet

NHAI Policy for Exempted FASTag

Here are the NHAI policies you must know for exempted FASTag

  • The exemption FASTag shall apply to road users by Rule 11 of the NH charge, 2008, and subsequent modifications, based on the application made by a user or authorised person.
  • The NHAI will be the primary point of contact for exempted FASTag issuances.
  • The exemption FASTag shall be issued to approved people free of charge.
  • The NHAI or its organisations are responsible for exempting the FASTag procedure and keeping all records.
  • The NHAI-authorised organisation, NHAII, is the only firm in India that will issue the exemption category FASTag.
  • In the case of dignitaries, linking bank account data to FASTag is optional.
  • The organisation will provide a monthly report on exempted FASTags to MoRTH (Ministry of Road Transport and Highways) by the fifth of each month.
  • Any vehicles or persons that fall into the exempted group but have yet to be tagged can benefit from the FASTag exemption by presenting a valid identification card.


FASTag exemption is a government or authority’s way of thanking certain sections for their contributions to our country. To get the exemption, you must first establish that you fit into the FASTag exemption category.

The simplest approach to recharge FASTag online is to visit the website of the bank that offers it. Log in to your FASTag account and add money by recharging using online banking, UPI, or a credit card or debit card. The other method is using the Airtel Thanks app for simple and easy process.